THE HISTORY

The Romans, King Henry the IV, Jean-Jacques Rousseau, Napoléon….the Chateau de Portets, its parish and port make up an important part of local heritage.

1000  B.C The Romans set up alongside the Garonne River and built the Port of Portets. After, they developed river trade, including viticulture which would bring about the notoriety of Portets.
1587 : Guillaume de Gascq took the lead of the castle. His family, the Gascq barons would stay head of the lordship for two centuries.
31 Juillet 1808 : Napoleon the 1st, back from Spain, visited Chateau de Portets before his ceremonial entrance in Bordeaux. There is a bronze plaque in the main courtyard of the Chateau in order to commemorate his visit.
1956 : Jules Theron, agronomy engineer and president of the General Council of Oran (Algeria) purchased the property. With the help of his son, he would invest considerable time and energy to renovate the derelict Chateau which had not been refurbished since the 2nd World War.
Vue du chateau de Portets
Citation château de Portets
Until the 16th century : Chateau de Portets was a fortified castle governed by the Gascq barony.
1781 : The last heir of the Gascq family died, he would cede his property to Valdec de Lessart. In 1785, Valdec de Lessart sold the estate to the Seguineau de Lognac family which would remain the owner of the Chateau until the end of the 19th century.
1939-1945 : 2nd World War: Chateau de Portets was occupied by the Germans. At the end of the war, the place was abandoned in a dire state of disrepair.
Today : Chateau de Portets has found back its glory. Marie-Helene Yung-Theron, granddaughter of Jules Theron, works hard to continue with the tradition stewardship and highlight this splendid property, edifice the most imposing of Portets town, its vines, its wines and its history.
Chers clients,

Château de Portets est ouvert !

Visites uniquement sur rendez-vous, Respect des gestes barrières,

Dans la limite de 9 pers / visite

Livraison de vins sur France Métropolitaine

L'histoire

Les Romains, Henri IV, Jean-Jacques Rousseau, Napoléon… Le Château de Portets, sa commune, son port, un patrimoine enraciné dans l’Histoire…

1000  av. JC : Les Romains s’installent le long de la Garonne et aménagent le Port de Portets. Après avoir développé le commerce fluvial, ils y implantent le vignoble qui fait aujourd’hui la notoriété de Portets.
1587 : Guillaume de Gascq prend la tête du Château de Portets. Sa famille, les barons de Gascq règneront sur cette seigneurie pendant deux siècles.
31 Juillet 1808 : Napoléon Ier, de retour d’Espagne fait halte au Château de Portets, avant son entrée solennelle dans Bordeaux. Une plaque de bronze, installée dans la cour d’honneur du Château commémore son passage à Portets.
1956 : Jules Théron, ingénieur agronome et président du Conseil Général d’Oran (Algérie) acquiert le domaine. Accompagné de son fils, Jean-Pierre, il mettra toute son énergie pour réveiller ce domaine endormi, qui n’a pas été rénové depuis la 2nde Guerre Mondiale.
Vue du chateau de Portets
Citation château de Portets
Jusqu’au XVIème siècle : Le Château de Portets est un véritable château fort gouverné par la baronnie de Gascq.
1781 : Le dernier héritier de la famille de Gascq décède et lègue ses biens à Valdec de Lessart. Celui-ci revend le Château de Portets en 1785 à la famille Séguineau de Lognac, propriétaire jusqu’à la fin du XIXème siècle.
1939-1945 : 2nde Guerre Mondiale : Le Château de Portets est occupé par les Allemands. A la fin de la guerre, il est laissé à l’abandon dans un état désastreux.
Aujourd’hui : Le Château de Portets a retrouvé sa splendeur et c’est Marie-Hélène Yung-Théron, la petite fille, qui s’applique à mettre en valeur cette superbe propriété, édifice le plus imposant de Portets, ses vignes, ses vins et son histoire.
Chers clients,

Château de Portets est ouvert !

Visites uniquement sur rendez-vous, Respect des gestes barrières,

Dans la limite de 10 pers / visite


Livraison de vins sur France Métropolitaine